They pledged to oppose tax hikes


Someone called my attention to this list of legislators who have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. The pledge reads as follows:

I, ____________, pledge to the taxpayers of the _____ District of the State of _________ and to all the people of this state, that I will oppose and vote against any and all efforts to increase taxes.

Here is the list of Tulsa County legislators who have taken the pledge as of this June:

Sen. Charles R. Ford
Sen. Scott Pruitt
Sen. Jerry L. Smith
Rep. Sue Tibbs
Rep. Todd Hiett
Rep. Hopper Smith
Rep. Fred Perry
Rep. Dennis Adkins
Rep. Ron Peterson

Rep. Adkins is noted as a new signer this year. All of these legislators are Republicans.

All the Republicans in the Oklahoma congressional delegation, including Sen. (and former Tulsa Mayor) James Inhofe and Tulsa Congressman John Sullivan, have taken a similar pledge. Sen. Inhofe has a 100% rating from Americans for Tax Reform. Rep. Sullivan's rating is 91%.

So far I haven't heard any area legislator take a public stand on the proposed county sales tax increase. While a legislator only has one vote on this matter, like an ordinary citizen, a legislator would have some credibility and influence based on his experience in matters of public finance. Will any of these avowed opponents of "any and all efforts to increase taxes" lend their voices to stop a billion dollar tax increase? Or will they allow the proponents to continue to spread the myth that elected officials are united in support?

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Michael Bates published on August 23, 2003 3:09 PM.

Wi-Fi as a tool for downtown redevelopment was the previous entry in this blog.

Truth in Whirled headlines is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.



Subscribe to feed Subscribe to this blog's feed:
[What is this?]